Peter John Loux Award

CALL FOR ENTRIES! Nomination deadline: October 23rd, 2020

The Peter John Loux Award recognizes exceptional Kansans with disabilities.

This $1,000 award is presented annually to a Kansan who demonstrates exceptional dedication in overcoming the difficulties presented by a congenital or acquired physical or neurological disability.

2019 Peter John Loux Award Winner

Please review Eligibility and Nomination Requirements before following the nomination link below.

All nominees must:
* Be a current resident of Kansas
* Be at least 18 years old
* Have a congenital or acquired physical or neurological disability

Nomination Requirements
* A completed award application
* A 1-3 page narrative about the nominee that includes:
a description of the nominee
the nominee’s disability
the challenges the nominee faced and overcame
extracurricular and community activism
past vocational experiences and future goals
personal goals achieved
* A current photograph of the nominee to be used by CPRF for promotional material
* Two or more letters of support

Entries without all of the required information listed above will not be considered.
To send a nomination, click here (external link).
If you need a paper form mailed to you, contact Molly Tully at (316) 652-1547.

The Peter John Loux Award is an endowed gift established by the late R.C. “Pete” Loux in memory of his son, Peter John, who was fatally injured in an auto accident. Pete Loux was a lifelong advocate for people with disabilities, using his influence as minority leader of the Kansas House of Representatives to help Center Industries Corporation, the nation’s first manufacturing facility to provide competitive employment for people with disabilities, secure its 1975 inaugural contract to produce Kansas license plates (a contract CIC still holds). Mr. Loux also served on the CPRF Board of Directors from 1972-2004.

It is with great honor that CPRF administers this award on behalf of Mr. Loux in memory of Peter John.

Meet last year’s Peter John Loux Award winner, Andrea Romero.